To outsource receptionist work in 2026 you pick one of three things: an answering service that takes messages, a live virtual receptionist that answers as your office, or an AI receptionist. Human plans near 200 minutes a month run 269 to 720 dollars on published price pages. An in-house receptionist costs about 55,000 dollars a year with benefits. AI plans start under 50 dollars a month.
Key takeaways
- The median receptionist earned 38,010 dollars in May 2025, and benefits are 31.3 percent of pay for office staff, so a full-time hire costs about 4,600 dollars a month for 40 hours of coverage.
- Published human plans near 200 minutes ran from 269 dollars (Specialty Answering Service) to 720 dollars (Ruby) in September 2026. Smith.ai charges by the call: 300 dollars for 30.
- How the minute is counted matters as much as the price. Ruby rounds every call up to a full minute and counts hold time; PATLive bills in 6-second steps after the first minute; some bill by the second.
- An AI receptionist answers every call at once, books to your calendar and can take a payment. Keep a person for negotiations, upset callers and anything that needs judgment.
What it means to outsource a receptionist
Outsourcing a receptionist means somebody outside your payroll answers your phone in your name. The word covers four different products, and the price only makes sense once you know which one you are buying.
- An answering service picks up, takes a name and a number, and sends you the message. You still make the callback.
- A live virtual receptionist is a person at a remote desk who answers as your office, follows your script, transfers calls and often books appointments. Ruby, PATLive and Smith.ai sell this.
- An AI receptionist is software that holds the conversation itself: it answers questions, books, and texts you the summary. callflo.ai is one.
- An offshore assistant is a dedicated staffer abroad, paid by the hour, working a schedule you set. Cheaper per hour, but it covers set hours, not the whole week, and you manage the person.
The first three are what most people mean, and the lines between them are blurring. Moneypenny now sells AI answering on the same pricing page as its human receptionists, and Smith.ai sells an AI plan next to its live one. The difference between the two words is covered in the AI vs virtual receptionist post; this one is about the money.
What an in-house receptionist costs in 2026
The Bureau of Labor Statistics puts the median receptionist wage at 38,010 dollars a year, 18.27 dollars an hour, as of May 2025. Its employer cost survey for June 2026 puts benefits at 31.3 percent of total pay for office and administrative support workers. Put those together and a median hire costs the office about 55,300 dollars a year, or about 4,600 dollars a month. That is an estimate, and it leaves out recruiting, the desk and cover for lunch, sick days and vacation.
For a real estate office the problem is less the salary than the hours. The calls that pay arrive at 7pm on a weeknight and 11am on a Saturday, which is exactly when the desk is dark.
Outsourced receptionist services: prices side by side
Here is what the services publish, read from each vendor's own pricing page in September 2026. Where a plan near 200 minutes exists, that is the one shown, because 200 minutes is roughly 60 calls of three minutes each: a busy agent or a small leasing office.
| Service | Plan | Price per month | Effective rate | Overage | How a call is counted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruby | 200 minutes | $720 | $3.60 a minute | Not published | Rounded up to the full minute, hold time counts |
| Abby Connect | Professional, 200 minutes | $599 | $3.00 a minute | Plan rate | Not stated |
| Moneypenny (people) | 200 minutes | $422 | $2.11 a minute | $1.91 a minute | Not stated |
| PATLive | 200 minutes | $349 | $1.75 a minute | $1.99 a minute | First minute in full, then 6-second steps |
| Specialty Answering Service | 220 minutes | $269 | $1.22 a minute | $1.44 a minute | By the second |
| AnswerFirst | Pay as you go | $30 plus usage | $1.60 to $1.95 a minute | None | By the second |
| Smith.ai (people) | Starter, 30 calls | $300 | $10 a call | $11.50 a call | Per call, spam not charged |
| Moneypenny (AI) | 100 calls | $199 | $1.99 a call | $2.19 a call | Per call |
| callflo.ai Starter | 120 minutes | $39 annual, $49 monthly | $0.33 a minute | $0.98 a minute | Per minute, AI on every call |
| callflo.ai VIP | 1,000 minutes, run for you | $697 annual, $997 monthly | $0.70 a minute | $0.98 a minute | Per minute, AI on every call |
Two honest notes. callflo.ai's Starter overage is 98 cents a minute, so a line that runs well past 120 minutes pays for it, and a 300-minute month on Starter comes to about 215 dollars. And the human services are selling something the AI is not: a person on every call. If that is the requirement, the table is a ranking of people, not of options.
How a minute gets billed, and where the surprises come from
When you compare pricing models for live virtual receptionists, compare how the minute is counted, not just the price, because two plans with the same price can produce very different bills. Ruby's billing policy rounds each call up to the next full minute and counts the time a caller spends on hold, so a 10-second hang-up bills as a minute. PATLive's FAQ bills the first minute in full, then in 6-second steps. Specialty Answering Service and AnswerFirst bill by the second. Smith.ai does not count minutes at all; it counts calls.
None of this is hidden, but it is easy to miss. Ruby's billing was the subject of a class action alleging it billed for hold time and rounded every call up, which settled for about 12 million dollars in 2021. The policy is now stated plainly. The lesson for a buyer is to ask the question before signing, not after the first invoice.
Price it on your own line
That is 180 minutes a month. Monthly cost, overage included:
PATLive priced on the cheapest published plan for your minutes, overage included, September 2026. callflo.ai priced on minutes at annual rates. The cheapest option is highlighted; VIP includes a team running the agent.
Answering service, live remote receptionist or AI: what each does on the call
Price per minute only matters once you know what the minute buys. The real split is what happens to the caller before they hang up.
| On the call | Answering service | Live virtual receptionist | AI receptionist (callflo.ai) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Answers as your office | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Answers questions about your listings or units | Rarely | From a script | From your website and the details you give it |
| Books into your calendar | No | Often, sometimes an add-on | Yes, on every plan |
| Takes a payment | No | Some, as an add-on | Yes, through Stripe, on every plan |
| Picks up several calls at once | Queue | Queue | Yes |
| Nights and weekends | Usually | Usually | Every hour, same price |
| A person on the line | Yes | Yes | No, transfers to you when a caller asks |
What outsourced reception looks like in a real estate office
Tuesday, 8:10pm. A renter calls about the two-bedroom you listed on Sunday. An answering service takes her name and number. Your leasing agent sees the message at 9am, calls at 9:40, and the renter has already booked a tour somewhere that picked up. This is the scene the outsourcing decision is really about.
The evidence that speed decides it is strongest for web leads, and it is not flattering. Mike DelPrete's secret-shopper study of more than 25 brokerages found 47 percent of online inquiries were never answered, and the median response took 39 minutes. Phone callers are less patient still: in a 2025 CallRail survey of 1,000 consumers, only 42 percent said they leave a voicemail and 82 percent said they would call a competitor.
Here is the same Tuesday call answered by an AI receptionist. It is a sample, not a recording.
Sample call: Tuesday, 8:10pm, leasing line
Property managers will recognize the other half of the night: the maintenance line. The after-hours answering guide covers how an outsourced line should triage a burst pipe against a dripping faucet, and the property manager page shows the whole setup on one line.
Hear it take the 8pm leasing call yourself
Call callflo.ai's own AI agent and ask it anything about your business. When you are ready, pick a plan: no setup fee, no contract, and you do not pay unless you are satisfied.
Starter is $39 a month on annual billing. Live on your line about 5 minutes after you sign up.
When an AI does the job, and when to keep a person
An AI receptionist does the job when most calls are the same ten questions: is it available, what does it cost, can I see it, who handles maintenance, when is rent due. It also wins on volume and hours, because it answers every call at once at any hour for the same rate, and on actions, because it books and takes the payment rather than passing a message along.
Keep a person when the call needs judgment. A seller deciding whether to list, a tenant in a dispute, a closing that is falling apart: those calls should reach a human, and a good AI setup transfers them rather than improvising. Plenty of offices run both, with the AI on the line and a person handling what it hands over. The receptionist cost post works the numbers for each mix.
Questions to ask before you sign
- How is a minute counted? Rounded up to the full minute, 6-second steps, or by the second. Is hold time billed?
- What is the overage rate? Ruby does not publish one on its pricing page. Ask for it in writing.
- Does it book into my calendar, or send me a message? And is booking an add-on?
- Can it take a payment on the call? An application fee or a deposit collected at 8pm is money that does not wait for Monday.
- Will every caller get the same experience? A pool of human receptionists reads your script a little differently each time; ask how the service keeps the client experience consistent. An AI answers from the same instructions on every call.
- Where are the receptionists? PATLive says all of its receptionists are in the United States; offshore assistants cover set hours.
- What does it cost to leave? Setup fees, contracts, and notice periods. Davinci, for one, lists a 95-dollar setup fee and 30 days' written notice.
- Can I test it first? Call it yourself before a customer does. The testing guide has the script.
callflo.ai starts at 39 dollars a month on annual billing, with 120 minutes included, from the pricing page. You keep your number and forward it, and you can hear the agent answer before you pay anything.